Finally, there appears to be a magazine out there for people just like me. People who like to dabble in everything…or close to everything (nothing illegal of course).

And of all things, it’s called Dabble! How cool is this? Actually, I’m not sure how cool it is, because the magazine hasn’t actually hit the stands yet. However, you can see the first issue on the website. 

I perused the entire first issue online and I started bouncing in my seat with excitement. While the magazine doesn’t cover everything you can dabble in, let’s say fishing for example, it does cover three of my favorite topics: design, travel and food.

Design

Design

Photo provided by dabblemag.com

The design section features DIY tips, home tours and other creative tips. This section is the most poignant for my blog’s current theme. I plan to branch out to other dabbling areas eventually. Like, when this semester ends.  There were some fun articles on re-doing your hallway and spicing it up and some home tours of GORGEOUS houses.  But the winner for me was the interview with Diane Von Furstenberg. The DVF diva herself. I think I drooled a bit on the keyboard. She mostly talked about her new home collection, which is as stunning as her iconic wrap dress.

Travel

Travel

Photo provided by dabblemag.com

This travel issue takes us to Prague and all of its wonder. The pictures were spectacular and brought back fond memories for me. I was an exchange student to Germany and we took a EuroTour that included Prague. That was definitely one of my favorite cities.

Another great stop was Nashville, Tennessee, a city not too far from me, and sadly I’ve never been there. Funny how that happens isn’t it? Sometimes, there are great places out your backdoor and yet, you only dream of going far away.

Food

Food

Photo provided by dabblemag.com

Mmmm food.And they started off with the most important food group…coffee. I’m in heaven. There were some delicious looking recipes in the issue, but they looked pretty advanced. I’m definitely in the beginner’s class when it comes to cooking. My diet consists mostly of coffee, Ramon noodles and whatever I can steal from my mom’s fridge.

This brings me to the PR question of the day. Is it a good idea to post the entire issue online?

Pros

Personally, I loved that I flip through the entire issue online. It got me really excited about the release and future issues.

Cons

If they plan to release every issue, where’s the incentive to subscribe?

Also…

The last page lists the different social media the magazines follows, such as its favorite blogs, Facebook fans and Tweeters. I can’t decide if I like this idea or not. The PR person in me says, yes! You’re on social media and clearly involved. That’s great! On the other hand, if a magazine was mentioning me in its pages, I would have a hard time not writing glowing reviews of every issue. What can I say? I can be bought. This asks an ethical question. I can’t wait to see the magazine and how the social media part plays out.

