Sometimes the easiest way to update a room is to hang pictures, artwork or even some cool shelving units on the walls. They instantly add more visual appeal and/or handy storage. There are quick, easy ways to hang items on walls and there are a few slightly trickier ways. We’ll start with the easiest and work our way to the hardest.

Option 1: MonkeyHook® EZ Drywall Hanger

Monkey Hooks for wall hangings

Picture provided by Target.com

These handy hooks are inexpensive (about $10 for 30 hooks) and they are super easy to use on drywall. All you have to do is push the hook into the wall where you want it, twisting back and forth while you do, until the hook looks into place, securing it to the wall.

One of the benefits is that you don’t need to mess around with hammers and nails or power drills. The rounded design allows the hook to lock into the drywall. By doing this, the hook can hold more weight than a hammer and nail, because it’s more evenly distributed.

Pretty simple, right? They’re designed to hang items on drywall, but eventually you’re going to hit a wall stud somewhere. You’ll have to avoid these by using a stud finder or choose option two.

Option 2: Hammer and Nail

This option requires more tools and more care with your thumbs. A tip is to tilt the nail upwards so it’s easier to hang items. Directions are pretty self-explanatory. You place the tip of the nail to the wall and tap it with the hammer until it’s in place.

The trouble comes when you smack a thumb (been there done that) or have to remove the nail. This is when walls get torn apart and the MonkeyHooks are a bit better.

Option 3: Power Drill

Now comes the fun part! I’ve watched do-it-yourself shows for years and always wanted to learn how to use the power tools. Well, finally I got my chance.

I got a coat/scarf/hat rack that could hang and the safest way to keep it secure was to screw it into the wall. Normally, this is a task I call on my dad for, but for once I’m going to learn to do this myself.

I was pretty nervous, because my dad and the people on the designer shows always make it look so easy. You see the drill flying in and out of the wall like nothing happened. But hey folks, that’s a pretty powerful tool.

Here’s how I did it:

Setting up the drill:

Creating a hole:

Screw time:

Here’s another good video to watch. He’s not exactly entertaining, but he has some good, extra tips on using an electric drill.

I stumbled a bit when using the drill to put the screw in the wall. Professionals can do that in one fluid motion. But I’m not a professional and that wasn’t too bad for a first time.

Using the drill was actually easier than I thought and a whole lot of fun! Now I’m ready for the big guys. Bring on the table saws and rotary sanders! Okay, maybe not quite yet.

